June 6, 2017 – Regular Election – Wards 2, 4, and 6

The Riverside Charter designates the City Clerk as having charge of all City elections.  As the Elections Official, the City Clerk processes nominations for Mayor and City Council candidates and accepts campaign finance filings.

The City Clerk also administers elections for ballot measures for City matters.

The Riverside Charter sets forth the number of elected officials for the City and their method of election.  All are non-partisan positions serving four-year terms and may be re-elected without limit.  The City of Riverside has eight elected officials including the Mayor and the seven members of the City Council.  The City Clerk serves as the local elections official.

The Riverside Mayor is elected at-large by voters of the entire City while the members of the City Council are voted into office by electors in each of the City’s seven Wards.  Registered voters cast ballots for City Council candidates only for the Ward in which they reside.  Regular elections for members of the City Council occur in June of odd-numbered years.  If no candidate receives a majority of votes cast for the office, a runoff election is held the following November.  The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes in the regular election shall be the candidates in the runoff election.

The Mayoral election is held in June of U.S. Presidential election years.  A runoff election, if required, is held the following November.

Elections held in June of odd-numbered years are stand-alone all mail-in ballot elections.  All other regular and run-off elections are conducted by polling place and consolidated with other elections being held in the County of Riverside on the same day.

The next regular election for members of the City Council for Wards 2, 4, and 6 will be held on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

For more information, please call the City Clerk’s Office at (951) 826-5557.

The regular election of members of the City Council for Wards 2, 4, and 6 will be held on June 6, 2017. The election calendar can be found here.

Ward 2
Lance Sayavong Issued nomination papers 2/14/2017
Nicolas Cast Issued nomination papers 2/14/2017
Andy Melendrez Issued nomination papers 2/15/2017
Jon Scott Harris Issued nomination papers 2/15/2017
Ward 4
Paul Davis Issued nomination papers 2/13/2017
Charles Edwin Conder, Jr. Issued nomination papers 2/14/2017
Ward 6
Jim Perry Issued nomination papers 2/13/2017
Rafael Elizade Issued nomination papers 2/13/2017